Genetics and Germplasm Working Group (GG)

GG is part of the American Society for Horticultural Science (ASHS)

Minutes (2009 meeting)

  • Genetics and Germplasm Working Group Business Meeting
  • American Society for Horticultural Science Annual Conference
  • St. Louis, MO
  • July 26, 2009


Renée Arias, Nahla Bassil, Mark Bohning, Allan Brown, Mark Coggeshall, Ryan Contreras, Rumen Convev, Mark Ehlenfeldt, Mark Farnham, Richard Fery, Chad Finn, Ksenija Gasic, Michael Gold, Kim Hummer, Brian Irish, Jack Juvik, David Karp, Jim Meyers, Satya Narina, Wambui Njuguna, Richard Olsen, Dilip Panthee, Soon Park, Margaret Pooler, Sarah Potts, John Scott, Jun Song, Janice Strachan, Gayle Volk, Todd Wehner, Yiqun Weng, Linda Wessel-Beaver, Mark Widrlechner, Gan-Yuan Zhong


Nahla Bassil (chair), Gayle Volk (chair-elect), Richard Olsen (secretary).


  • Minutes
    • The Genetics and Germplasm Working Group held its annual meeting during the ASHS Annual Research Conference in St. Louis, Missouri (July 25-28, 2009).  The meeting was called to order at 8:00 am on Sunday, July 26, 2009 at the Jefferson B meeting room, Millennium Hotel, St. Louis, MO.  The meeting was presided over by the chair, Dr. Nahla Bassil and the chair-elect, Dr. Gayle Volk.  Minutes recorded by the secretary, Dr. Richard Olsen.
  • Old business
    • The 2008 minutes were approved, pending minor corrections submitted by Richard Olsen.
  • New business
    • Working Group Chairs and Chairs-Elect Meeting – Tim Rhodus introduced the NING network for improving digital communication between ASHS members, specifically for intra-working group discussions.  The working groups should consider this the main forum for discussing business between annual meetings.
    • GGWG sponsored workshop 2009 – The working group sponsored the workshop “Standarized Phenotyping: Advantages to Horticulture”, and co-sponsored the workshop “Asia’s Indigenous Horticultural Crops” at this year’s ASHS annual meeting.
    • GGWG supported events at future meetings – The 2010 meeting will be Aug. 2-5 at Desert Springs, CA.  Colloquium/Workshop deadlines are Dec. 1 and Feb. 15, respectively.  Gayle Volk made a motion, seconded by Ryan Contreras, to hold a colloquium on “Wild sampling for germplasm diversity” which passed unanimously.  Discussion ensued on including the issue of universal MTAs into the colloquium.   Kim Hummer made a motion that the working group co-sponsors a colloquium with the History of Horticultural Science working group on heirloom and ancient vegetables, seconded by Todd Wehner, which passed unanimously.
    • Frank N. Meyer Medal for Plant Genetic Resources – Kim Hummer submitted a nomination for Mel Westwood in 2009; however a different candidate was chosen.  The nomination will be considered for three years.  Todd Wehner emphasized the need for our group to continue nominating our senior germplasm scientists, and offered Phil Forsline as the next nomination.   Phil Forsline and Herb Aldwinckle were nominated by Schuyler Korban in 2007 and 2008.  Schuyler will re-activate both  nominations for 2010.
    • Germplasm Exploration and Exchange and Germplasm Evaluation funding for FY 2009 – Mark Bohning, USDA-ARS National Germplasm Resources, discussed the germplasm exploration and exchange program and the germplasm evaluation funds distributed by their office.  Deadline for exploration/exchange was July 24th; evaluation deadlines will be sometime in late fall.  Their office continues to be involved with discussions on a standardized material transfer agreement, and the effects on accessions in national germplasm repositories.  Presented a brief update on GRIN Global, which is set to be completed in 2010.
    • Election of New Officers – Kim Hummer nominated Brian Irish for secretary.  Working group voted him in unanimously .  Gayle Volk took on the chair position and Richard Olsen became the chair-elect.
    • Other issues – Mark Ehlenfeldt raised the need to bring greater attention to the award winners for the fruit cultivars, etc.  Need more coverage on the ASHS website to promote the work of our members.
    • Meeting was adjourned at 8:55 am.
    • Minutes respectfully submitted, Richard Olsen, GG secretary.